EU iPod Touch and the pathetic volume saga

iTouch

I received an iPod touch today.  To be fair, I didn’t know much about this device, but I didn’t like the thought of it until I actually used it.  A marvelous invention, the wi-fi function being particularly noteworthy.  However, i discovered one major problem.  The volume.  I was previously using a 1st generation iPod Nano (2GB) and the maximum volume was deafening.  However when I switch the Touch to maximum volume it is only a shadow of the Nano’s amplification glory.  Having done a little research, i have discovered that this is due to a French law that the rest of Europe is conforming to (surprise surprise) which means that all portable music devices can now only achieve a certain volume in order to protect our health and prevent us from going deaf.  I ask, why can’t I make this decision for myself?  Another example of the government intervening in our lives and mollycoddling us into decision making submission.  Yet most importantly, i can’t listen to my music at an adequate volume on the tube, in the street, etc.  This is a real pain in the arse.  Therefore i urge you not to buy an iPod touch in the UK… get one from a US seller on eBay and you will be free to damage your ears as much as you wish.

8 Responses to “EU iPod Touch and the pathetic volume saga”


  1. 1 Richard December 31, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    Hi, I stumbled upon this page whilst googleing around.

    Although I don’t yet have an ipod touch, I have just done a few days of research on the device, prepared my music library and have just ordered one from amazon.

    The EU volume restriction is a common theme throughout all ipods and is well documented online. There are several tools/cracks that can be used on earlier ipods – but not on the touch.

    However, I am waiting to ‘jailbreak’ my ipod touch when I recieve it. This basically gives the user full read/write access to the disk, allowing you to install apps, hugely increase the functionality of the device and of course remove the stupid EU volume cap.

    Although it will affect your warrenty I would ‘jailbreaking’ the touch. Look around for some tutorials, Youtube being a good starting point.

    I would also advise you to get some decent earphones as the stock apple earbuds can have a detrimental effect on the volume and overall sound quality of the ausio being played.

    Good Luck.

    Richard

  2. 2 Ichorus February 21, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Hello, I’m a fellow iPod user that has found that my music ain’t as loud on my ipod as my old mp3 players.

    I found a very simple solution for this is highlighting every track you have (or do it one by one, your choice) you can go into itunes and in “get info” up the Volume Adjustment….
    Its a Simple fix, admittedly it does up the songs on Itunes as well as when you sync your ipod touch, but you can just Drop the Itunes volume and it will match your PC’s or Imac’s usual volume.

    Once you have sync’d your music go into settings and turn off Soundcheck.
    Works a treat, no need to Jailbreak it if you dont want to.
    Almost died when i played a song by sikth to check it. Ouch!!

    Thanks

    Ichorus

  3. 3 Ichorus February 21, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Ps are far as my trained ears can tell there is no Reduction in quality either. :)
    Hope this helps

    Ichorus

  4. 4 neil May 13, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I own a 4th gen 20gb ipod and there is no volume restriction on this, i’m wondering how bad is the volume restriction on the ipod touch’s is it as bad as people make out? im considering purchasing one but not sure with the volume level now. can any give me an indication as to how low the volume is in comparison to old mp3 players like how percent is it lower. thanks.

  5. 5 kommoner May 15, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    I’d say it’s about 20% lower than my 1st Gen iPod Nano (UK edition)

  6. 6 mark May 15, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    works a treat.I almost blew my head off

  7. 7 EarBud July 28, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    “are far as my trained ears can tell…”

    Actually when altering the volume level on your songs in iTunes you do NOT alter the MAX volume for the sound output on your iPod. The sound volume will simply max out before the volume bar reaches 100%, nothing more.

    Bought a 3rd gen iPod Nano (EU) a week ago and invested in a pair of 200$ headphones at the same time. I deeply regret that now and will NEVER buy an Apple product ever again.

    Not only does the sound cap make a fiew of my tracks volume play even below the sound of a normal spekaing level. But also the software decoding of the music is simply not written correctly. As soon as I enable the EQ the bass starts cracking up. That is bacause the software can’t handle the frequences properly. If I alter an MP3 to play at 89 dB (much lower), the EQ works well and can handle the bass but at this point the maximum volume level is far from acceptable. A bit like Catch 22?

    What you would want to do is simply letting the iPod handle/decode the MP3’s as if it were on 89dB and then play it 20%-50% louder, then the iPod would be as good as a normal MP3-player. It’s all doable in theory and it’s all in the software. Apple just won’t let you.

    This is not due to bad headphones as I have tried a bunch. It can not be fixed by software like EuPod or iPodWizard – I’we tried them all last week. And it is not due to bad mp3’s (bit rates or rips).

    My advise is simply: DO NOT buy an iPod if you need a proper MP3-player. But it makes a nice toy to ply with. IF you want an iPod anyway, do not buy one in Europe.

    I only wish I knew this a week ago, then I would never have wasted my money on a Nano (EU version).

  8. 8 MUSIC May 23, 2014 at 4:37 am

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive
    a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is
    now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is
    completely off topic but I had to share it with someone!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

